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Estimate feature or product value
Estimate value for easier prioritization.
1. What is your goal
One or a combination of:
Increase value ($ in dollars)
Increase customer base (% of increase)
Optimize/Reduce cost ($ in dollars)
Increase customer retention (% of increase)
2. Estimate the value
Before calculating the value, we need to establish a few facts to be used as parameters later.
Churn Rate
Churn Rate = (# of customer at start - # of customers at end) / # of customers at start
Average Customer Lifetime
Average Customer Lifetime = 1 / Churn Rate
Customer Lifetime Value
LTV = Average Customer Lifetime x Average Gross Profit Per Account
or
LTV = ARPA x Gross Margin % / Churn % (where ARPA is Average Revenue Per Account)
Example 1: Increase Value
Acme Inc had 200 customers at the start and 150 at the end of the period, 200 - 150 / 200 = 0.25, which gives a Churn Rate of 0.25 or 25%. The average customer lifetime is four years, and customers pay $50,000 annually for the service.
$200,000 ARPA x 40% Gross Margin / 25% Churn = $320,000.
The new feature is expected to increase ARPA by 5%.
$240,000 ARPA x 40% Gross Margin / 25% Churn = $384,000.
The feature increases the LTV by $64,000.